A staged approach to supporting the community safety

Empowering communities brings the community together to listen and respond to community concerns and ideas on how to tackle local issues that impact on crime and safety. The program is implemented in stages over a three year period.

Project progress timeline

The timeline shows that the common goal is now agreed


Coordinating organisation

Empowering Communities in Greater Shepparton coordinated by Greater Shepparton City Council. You can contact the Action Group via Ariyana Gant at: Ariyana.Gant@shepparton.vic.gov.au (External link)

Building Safer Communities Forum

The Greater Shepparton Forum was held in March 2022, building on the collective wisdom of the community and local stakeholders to consider issues that impact people in Greater Shepparton. The key themes identified were:

  • acceptance and sense of belonging
  • a need for positive role models
  • outreach to vulnerable and multicultural groups to understand their needs
  • safe spaces for women
  • specialist services for young people
  • practical support for homeless.

Watch the Greater Shepparton Forum video:


Action Group established

The Greater Shepparton Action Group was established in June 2022, bringing together key services and other stakeholders. The Action Group is responsible for connecting the initiative to the broader community and overseeing its implementation.

Greater Shepparton Action Group members

The following organisations and stakeholders are represented on the Action Group:

  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Victoria Police
  • Junction Connection
  • Mooroopna Community & Education Centre
  • Koorie Education Children’s Court Liaison Officer
  • Rumbulara Aboriginal Co-operative
  • Shepparton English Language Centre
  • LGBTQIA+ community member
  • Greater Shepparton Secondary College
  • Committee of Greater Shepparton
  • Greater Shepparton Lighthouse Project
  • Berry Street
  • Ethnic Council of Shepparton and District Inc
  • Goulburn Valley Health
  • Department of Justice & Community Safety
  • Department of Education & Training